The spinach slip…

So I started the diet on May 13th, 2013. All I took on the first day was chicken soup and eggs. Since I didn’t have a mixer-grinder, I couldn’t boil and puree the vegetables. BMs were perfectly normal from the second day onwards. After a few days when I bought a mixer-grinder, I introduced carrots (boiled and puréed) into my diet. Since then, the BMs turned a little loose. And after a few days when I introduced spinach, it was a disaster. I kept going on because there was no mucus but it was very watery. I found out that foods high in insoluble fiber do not get digested and may cause bloating, belching and if taken in excess, diarrhea. Since at this stage, the variety of foods is limited and I have to take the same food for every meal, I usually end up taking large quantity of the same kind of food. I was very bothered and somewhat frustrated with it. Cooked spinach is good for stomach acid production. So I was a little reluctant to give it up. But when things started getting worse, I had to drop it. I replaced it with beetroot. I also cut down on carrots and introduced bell peppers. I had tried bell peppers when I was just evaluating SCD. I knew it suited me. So the BMs got a little better. Right now, I’m not getting watery BM. But it’s not perfectly solid either. It could be because of carrots or beetroot. I’ll eliminate carrots first. I hope carrot is the culprit because beetroot helps the stomach produce acid.

I have started taking Ginger-Lemon-Salt-Black Pepper tea. I’m not sure how much it’ll help but there is no harm either. Today morning I guess I ate black peppers a little too much. I experienced mild heartburn almost throughout the day. Now this is a good news as well as bad news. Good news because I know that my stomach is at least producing acid and thanks to Jesus, there is a hope that it may start working properly some day. Bad news because I’m not sure the heartburn was because of excess black peppers or weak stomach lining. If the stomach lining is weak, the produced stomach acid will damage it even more and the cure would be to avoid producing stomach acid. This will send me back in the loop. I have  ordered Betaine HCL. And I pray Betaine HCL turns out to be the last nail in coffin. But in the meantime, I’ll have to work on improving the stomach lining.

3 thoughts on “The spinach slip…

  1. Did you try beet root in produce form or in supplement form?
    Are you familiar with the pecanbread site which gives suggestions/stages on possible foods to try first? I’m concerned that you may be trying some “advanced foods” a bit soon.
    I’ve been on the diet for 12 weeks now and can’t handle many of the foods/spices you’ve tried. Of course, I know that each body is different. I just wonder if more chicken broth might help calm things down some.
    Praying for your success!

    1. Yes I am following a slightly simplified version of those phases. That is from the book “SCD Lifestyle: from surviving to thriving”. I gave up on Spinach. I replaced it with bottle squash and beetroot. Other than suffering from the repercussions of mistakes I make, I’m better now. In the beginning, it’s a little tough because we’ve to eat less variety in more quantity which creates problems. Also, I think taking foods with digestive enzymes may help because I’m taking everything cooked (which destroys the enzymes present in them). I anyways lack in pretty all the nutrients and enzymes. May be trying a raw apple or cucumber will help.
      GBY.

Leave a comment